Digital Futures Management Board

The role of the Digital Futures Management Board is to provide leadership to the University’s multidisciplinary Digital Futures activity, maintaining an overview of the University’s current capabilities in the broad fields encompassed by Digital Futures and identifying actual and potential areas of excellence.

The Board reports to the Digital Futures Strategic Advisory Board.


The Digital Futures Management Board is responsible for:

  • Raising the profile of Digital Futures within the wider University community, bringing researchers from different disciplines together into multidisciplinary communities;
  • Identifying opportunities to build critical mass, maintaining an overview of the current external landscape in terms of research and funding opportunities;
  • Building the profile of Digital Futures, encouraging and strengthening links with external stakeholders;
  • Encouraging the community to increase the impact of the University’s Digital Futures work on the world of practice.


The Management Board is chaired by the Vice President for Research and comprises the leads for each Challenge/Capability.

The current membership is as follows.

Societal Challenges

Institutional Challenges

Cross-cutting Capabilities

Health & Care: Niels Peek

FSE e-Research: Paola Carbone

Data Science & AI: Magnus Rattray

Cities & Environment: Richard Kingston

FBMH e-Research: Vicki Palin

Digital Trust & Security: Emma Barrett

Business & Employment: Ken McPhail

HUM e-Research: Nikolay Mehandjiev

Human Centred Design: Caroline Jay

Materials & Industry 5.0: Paulo Bartolo

Education & Training: Danielle George

Social Media & Network: David Schoch

Citizens & Government: Rachel Gibson

Admin & Estates: Angus Hearmon

Internet of Things: Chris Taylor

Creative & Heritage: Kostas Arvanitis


Policy & Innovation: Anna Scaife